The Call

A few pictures/thoughts about opening my call:

Hermana Lewis

I opened my mission call on Black Friday, 2012.

Surrounded by loving friends and family.

I waited 8 days, but it was worth it.

It didn’t go exactly as planned.

Technology problems and time miscommunications.

But those didn’t matter.

I had a dream the night before–I got called to Provo, Utah.

But I was still content with my call.

I woke up knowing I would be happy.

No matter where I served.

I knew this was a good thing.

So many people crammed in my living room.

Plus more on cell phones and laptops.

I am so loved.

Posters by the door filled with guesses, all over the globe.

The first time I held my call was seconds before I opened it.

My postage was $1.70.

My mom was shaking.

I opened my call quickly.

I read it line by line.

Dear Sister Lewis:

You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

You are assigned to labor in the Florida Tampa Mission.

It is anticipated that you will serve for a period of 18 months.

You should report to the Provo Missionary Training Center on Wednesday, March 6, 2013.

You will prepare to preach the gospel in the Spanish language.

The living room erupted with cheers after every sentence.

My grandpa guessed it right, down to the exact mission.

He stood up and fist pumped.

I smiled. I laughed. I felt so calm.

I’m going to Tampa, Florida.

I couldn’t be more excited.

Call me Hermana Lewis, ya’ll.

Mission Call 8Mission Call 9 Mission Call 2 Mission Call 1 Mission Call 15mission-call-26 - Version 2Mission Call 28

One thought on “The Call

  1. We were thrilled with your call to the Florida Tampa Spanish speaking mission!
    Your Grandpa Lasson was especially excited that he guessed it right! He jumped around like he had just thrown the winning three pointer in the NCAA Tournament! Love always!

Leave a Reply

