Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes…

I hope you sung that title.

We officially found out that Hermana Carson is going to be staying in Bradenton to train a couple of sisters. She came back for a couple days to pack and so we had a few farewell lessons with some of our strongest investigators. And took a million and a half pictures. It was so great to have her back and we miss her tons!

Since Hermana Carson was transferred [her last transfer], it is just me and Hermana Larsen here on our own, trying to hablar en espanol. But, we know Heavenly Father will help us.  It’s weird cause Spanish has its on and off days for us.  And after almost 2 days of not understanding an ounce of Spanish [church was brutal yesterday] we came back home for lunch/studies/dinner and just prayed for help.  I had a pounding Spanish headache so I slept for our whole dinner break and probably could have slept all night.  When I got up at 6 pm, I was still feeling it, but I knew I’d be blessed if I worked through it.  So, I took some Ibuprofen, guzzled some water, and we headed out the door on our bikes.  BUT, we saw some miracles!

In 2 1/2 hours [6-8:30 pm] we taught 5 lessons, 4 were with new people we had just contacted, and 3 were completely in SPANISH!  My headache was gone and we were on top of the world. It was amazing!  I know the Lord’s hand is really what controls everything, not us. We have been so blessed already, and the work here just continues to grow!  I feel so blessed to be a part of the Lord’s work.

We learned a hard lesson this week [and I’m sure I’ll have to learn it again and again on the mission] and that is: People have agency. That is one of the most difficult parts about being a missionary. We can do everything right: teach with the Spirit, guide people, extend commitments, love them, etc. But it all comes down to their individual relationship with Heavenly Father and [unfortunately] we can’t force them to do anything. We had almost all of our investigators back out of their baptismal date this week. It was rough. We now only have Augustine on the 9th, but that’s okay because he is solid and this baptism is going to be amazing. And the others will come around. And after a stressful Sunday morning, the giddiness that filled my heart when Augustine walked into church yesterday morning right before the sacrament [alone, after his normal ride had already come] was indescribable.

I feel like such a mother to these people. Missionary work is the ultimate parent prep. Because I just love them so much. I care about how their feeling, what they’re doing, how I can help them, what and how I can teach them…they are on my mind all day every day. I only want the best for them and I’m trying to help them realize that the little things we are asking them to do will bring them happiness.

When they make the right choices and keep commitments, I’m the happiest person in the world. But then when they make wrong choices or reject us, I am devastated. I wonder where I went wrong and what I could have done better. I get so sad when they do things that distance themselves from God because I just want their happiness!

It’s crazy. And a little strange. But I am so grateful for it because I know that Heavenly Father gives me that pure love for the people and I wouldn’t be able to do any of this work without it. The foundation of all missionary work is LOVE. As President Summerhays would say, “It’s a beautiful thing.” 

So, for this transfer it’s just me and Hermana Larsen. We set some high goals for this transfer and we’re ready to work past the point of exhaustion. Riding bikes, talking to everyone, helping people progress, finding families, learning Spanish, and not wasting a second of the Lord’s time. We’re stoked!
Tengan una buena semana todos!
Les quiero muchissimo,
Amor y oraciones siempre,
Hermana Lewis
xoxoxo
143
Hermana Lewis, Hermana Larsen, and Herman Carson.  Best friends!

Hermana Lewis, Hermana Larsen, and Herman Carson. Best friends!

Hermana Lewis and Rogelio's famous handshake!

Hermana Lewis and Rogelio’s famous handshake!

Hermana Lewis & Rogelio - famous handshake!

Hermana Lewis & Rogelio – famous handshake!

Stephanie and Hermana Lewis. Steph calls Morgan Hermana Kesha because of her hair! :)

Stephanie and Hermana Lewis. Steph calls Morgan Hermana Kesha because of her hair! 🙂

Hermana Lewis and Stephanie

Hermana Lewis and Stephanie

999170_1397343400487089_98868093_n-1

Leave a Reply

