FIRST BAPTISM!

June 17, 2013

FIRST BAPTISM!

I feel like I start out every email like this, but WOW! about this week. Also, we’re halfway through this transfer…where does my life go?

But seriously, Heavenly Father is blessing us so much. SO MUCH. And he sure loves us and trusts us. And he loves this people. We found proof of this all on Tuesday. The alarm didn’t go off that morning (okay it didn’t go off after I hit snooze at 6:15) and we woke up 23 MINUTES LATE. We were devastated, and immediately jumped out of bed and onto our knees. We had a huge day planned for us and we did not need disobedience getting in the way of our plans. I pleaded for forgiveness from Heavenly Father [it’s amazing the things you feel guilty about on a mission] and as I stood up, I felt that guilt lifted from me. We had an incredible lesson with Brad and his mother-in-law, Elida, about the Restoration and the Spirit was so strong. I knew Heavenly Father had forgiven us.

Well, THEN lunchtime came around and we were 10ish minutes late getting out of the house. It seemed like everything was going wrong, and we were forgetting things left and right. We prayed for forgiveness [again] before our next lesson. And we had one of the most amazing and productive afternoons I have ever had in my life. 5 LESSONS BEFORE DINNER. And the Spirit was so strong in every single one. It seemed like we were right where we were supposed to be each second. Like the Lord was literally steering our bikes from place to place. We were so happy going from lesson to lesson, excited to share our message and find more people.

That’s when I knew. Heavenly Father is so aware of us. He LOVES us. And, He trusts us with his children here. He knows that we want nothing more than to be good missionaries and instruments in his hands and so despite our mistakes, he forgives us and allows us to move forward. He knows where our heart is. And my heart is definitely in this work!

It feels like all our hard work, prayers, and fasting are paying off because we have families literally falling right into our laps.  Families that are so ready for this Gospel. People that have been prepared for years. And we are meeting them left and right!

It’s amazing how many people we are teaching and that are actually progressing. Weekly planning was absolutely crazy trying to organize it all. But it’s so worth it. There’s no better feeling than being overwhelmed with blessings.

Also…I HAD MY FIRST BAPTISM YESTERDAY!!! Sweet Agustine was baptized and the whole thing was perfect. All 8 hours of being in the church building were so worth it. His mom and 2 brothers came to church to support him and mentioned that they want to keep coming after that! The branch really stepped up and helped out during the baptism and even provided lunch after!

The Spirit was so strong, and I am just blown away by how smoothly the whole thing went. So sweet little Augustine Morales is my first convert to the church. Noe came to the baptism as well and we’ve been working a lot with him. He was interviewed yesterday and is working toward being baptized next week. He says he’s still a little nervous but he feels a lot more calm about it than he did before. He has such a strong testimony and we are so proud of him!

I can’t even explain how blessed we have felt. I feel like there isn’t a sacrifice out here. It’s so fun, and every day brings a new miracle. This work makes me so happy and I love these people with my whole heart. And honestly, if I stayed in this one branch my entire mission, I would be ecstatic. We have such a clear vision of how this area can be and we want to see it through! That must be the hardest part about a mission…leaving areas. I really feel like we’re finding the people we’ve been sent here to find and it’s such an incredible feeling. People know us and love us and we know and love them. I’m currently in the process of trying to hint to president that I don’t want to leave! But, I’ll go where the Lord wants me.

For now, I’m going to enjoy every second I can with my amazing companion.

The field is white.

con todo mi corazon,

Hermana Lewis

Our FIRST BAPTISM!  Hermana Larsen, Augustine, and Hermana Lewis - June 16, 2013

Our FIRST BAPTISM! Hermana Larsen, Augustine, and Hermana Lewis – June 16, 2013

Hermana Lewis and Augustine.... first baptism! June 16, 2013

Hermana Lewis and Augustine…. first baptism! June 16, 2013

Love this family! Augustine with his mom, April, and brothers. Javier and Wakin.

Love this family!
Augustine with his mom, April, and brothers. Javier and Wakin.

Augustine, his mom, April, brothers, Javier and Wakin, Hermanas Larsen and Lewis.

Augustine, his mom, April, brothers, Javier and Wakin, Hermanas Larsen and Lewis.

Our 50th attempt at a zone picture... fail!

Our 50th attempt at a zone picture!

Leave a Reply

