Laboring on Labor Day

Tuesday, September 3, 2013

As you all probably knew, yesterday was Labor Day. Instead of having a P Day like everyone else in the world. The missionaries in the FTM labored. All Day. Today is P Day hence the late letter. It might throw off my sense of whole week but like….it’s fine.

I don’t know if I mentioned this last week but. We’re on car share. AKA this week was bike week. AKA I have never been more hot or sweaty or tired in my entire life. Riding a bike in the middle of August in Florida is no walk in the park. Luckily I’ve got my Heavenly Father and my handy dandy Crystal Light energy on my side. [The Lord expects us to use our resources.]

I did get a letter off to Garrett a little late, I don’t know when it’ll arrive but I swear. It’s coming bud. And I got the package and letters from you all! The bran muffins were PERF. I still have one left. I’m savoring them. YUM. Nothing like mamma’s bran muffins 🙂

Anyways back to Garrett. I have to admit the other day in church I had a little “moment” during sacrament. I was up on the stand because I was leading the music that day in sacrament meeting. I looked out at the deacons that were passing the sacrament and I saw Garrett out there with them. Garrett: I cannot believe you are 12 already! I got a little emotional [that seems to be happening a lot lately] and just thought about how proud I am of you and how amazing our family is. I don’t know how I got so blessed. But I am the most blessed hermana in the world pretty sure. You’re gonna be a  pro at that sacrament-passing business when I get back. And I cannot wait to go do baptisms with you!

Hey you all remember Jorge? Welllllllll, they ended up moving to Tampa. And when I was sitting up on the stand, guess who I saw in the very back row? JORGITO HIMSELF. I got butterflies and went right up to say hi to him after sacrament meeting. Elder Casey, Ator, and Hawkes are teaching him and his family right now. It could not have been more perfect! Ahhhhhhhh #missionaryhigh!!!

This week was really great. I’m getting used to tracting. Kind of. And we’ve been really blessed with the people we’ve met. I really feel like the Lord leads us in these days when we don’t have our set appointments or plans and we’re just out tracting. I mean, He has to. We’re just two 19/20-year-old girls. We have no clue what we’re doing.

There’s sometimes an advantage to bikes. We were out Saturday night by Candida and Hector’s house, and got on our bikes to head home. We drove by a guy sitting on one of those little powerline box things just staring at the ground. I rode past, and then found myself turning my bike back around to go talk to him. “You waiting for someone?” I asked. “No…just sitting.” he replied. We started talking to him and introduced ourselves. His name was Jordan, and he is a 14-year-old kid [I thought he was at least 18. He’s super tall like Blind Side status.] and the biggest sweetheart I’ve ever met. Within a couple minutes of talking we started into the Plan of Salvation. “Jordan. God has a plan for you. He knows you and loves you so much.”

“I know that. I believe Jesus died for our sins.” He then opened up to us about some things that he went through when he was younger. It was so sad. He is only 14 years old…Makayla’s age…and has already been through so many trials in his life. I felt the love of Heavenly Father for Jordan specifically and I just wanted to give him everything. We prayed with him and as we started to leave, he said, “Thank you…for stopping…” I knew we had been led to him. But I wasn’t sure if we’d ever see him again.

The next day [Sunday] we found ourselves in the same area. As we were talking to a couple people on that street, we see Jordan walking his dog on the other side of the road. We walked over to him and started talking again, and the first thing that comes out of his mouth is, “I just found out today I have a brain tumor. It’s been growing since I was a baby. The doctors don’t know if it’s cancerous or not yet.” I was in total shock. I had no clue what to say to him. So we walked a little ways with him and sat on the side of the road again. He told us he had read part of the Plan of Salvation pamphlet we gave him. So we gave him a Book of Mormon as well, and I read my best Alma 7:11-12. He had so much sadness in his eyes and seemed to almost just accept that he wasn’t going to be living much longer. I told him I knew that we were supposed to see him again. He said, “Yeah…I felt that about last night too.” We asked if we could come pray with his family but they weren’t home so we set up an appointment for the following night. As we rode off that night, I kept thinking, “What if we hadn’t talked to him? What if we hadn’t given him the Plan of Salvation pamphlet? What if we hadn’t even been in the area at that time?” I knew we had been led to him. And then I had a total breakdown. Me and Hermana Newbill both. It’s so sad to see things like this happen to people. But I am so grateful to have the opportunity to give them the hope and peace that comes with the knowledge of the gospel.

The sad part of this whole story is……Jordan is English. So we called up the English sisters in our area and told them about our appointment with Jordan and his family. 8pm last night, we were there. The sisters were running a little late so we sat outside and planned what we wanted to talk about a little bit. Then Jordan’s stepdad walks out. We introduce ourselves and he calls out Jordan and his wife, Linda. We began talking to them all about the things we taught Jordan, and they understood the concept of the Book of Mormon really well. Then Jordan piped in, “They taught me that we lived with God before this life. And we chose to come here. So that we could get bodies because we only had spirits.” Wow. He is amazing. Linda and Darling were both super open to what we had to say and we told them how we knew that we were supposed to meet them. “The timing of it all is amazing.” Linda told me. Well….you can’t beat the Lord’s timing. He rocks. Then the English sisters, Sisters Kenagy and Davis got there. Perfect timing again. And Sister Kenagy said one of the most inspired prayers I’ve ever heard. And then they shared that they had been feeling prompted to go tract on that same street for the last couple days but hadn’t had the opportunity. Heavenly Father is so aware of this family! And I just knew that these sisters are supposed to teach Jordan and his family. We were absolutely guided to them. I can’t wait to see what happens 🙂

Heavenly Father is so involved in this work it blows my mind sometimes. But in District Meeting we learned how Missionary Work is NOT 3 things:

1) Missionary work is not a routine. It’s different every day.

2) Missionary work is never not recognized.

3) Missionary work is never wasted.

We often don’t see the fruits of our labors. But something good comes of every contact, every slammed door, every testimony borne, every Book of Mormon given out, every invitation to come closer to Christ. If we’re inviting, we’re being successful. And we are doing the Lord’s will.

I love all of you so much!

amor,

Hermana Lewis

Hermana Lewis and Newbill biking around Tampa

Hermana Lewis and Newbill biking around Tampa

Sup Tampa...

Sup Tampa…

3 thoughts on “Laboring on Labor Day

  1. Dear Hermana Lewis,
    You are a great inspiration to me! I want to be like you when I grow up. I love you very much and pray for you to continue to have the Spirit to guide and direct you in all you do!
    Love always,
    Grandma L

  2. Grateful for inspired Sister Lewis who writes detailed letters for her blog and included the English sisters’ names…my daughter is Sister Davis. It made my day!

    • I am happy you were able to read this letter! Morgan loves serving with Sister Davis, and it sounds like they had a fun exchange going out to lunch to celebrate Morgan’s 6-month mark! I’m glad they are having fun while staying busy serving, teaching, and loving the people in Tampa! Thanks for raising such an amazing daughter.. I feel blessed that she and Morgan have become friends.

Leave a Reply

