Blessings on Blessings on Blessings!

Monday, November 25, 2013

This week is Thanksgiving.

Exactly a year ago this week I opened my mission call letter. And in that short 365 days, so much has come into my life that I have to be grateful for.

My mission. Like obviously, right? But, sometimes I have to remind myself how great it is because I’m not going to lie. It’s hard. It gets really super difficult sometimes. But then I think, “Hold on. I get to devote literally all my time and efforts and worries into the work of the Lord. I don’t have to worry about money or clothes or school or marriage or what crazy thing happened in the world this week. Just me, the Lord, and his precious children. I am pretty blessed.” And it’s true. The thing about a mission is it continues to bless. Blessings on blessings on blessings. I’ve met people that have taught me things and changed my life in a way that never could have happened had I not been out here in Tampa, Florida right at this exact moment.

My family. Okay they’ve always been around. But, especially lately, I am seeing just how great my family is. I can’t explain how much of a blessing it is that I can devote all my thoughts to the work. Because I don’t have to worry about things at home. My family is all extremely supportive and loving and I sometimes feel like such a princess because I have nothing worthy of a single complaint!

This gospel. As a missionary, my first convert is myself. My testimony and gratitude for the Gospel of Christ has grown in leaps and bounds in these last 9 months. I am so blessed to know the truth. And to be able to share it with everyone I meet. Sometimes my heart is so full I just want to cry. I used to laugh whenever people said their heart was full. But like, now I know how it feels. I get it. I am one of you people now. But seriously. To have not just a belief, but a knowledge of the things that most people go their whole lives wondering about….is such a blessing.

My bike. I complain about my trusty steed every single week. But in all reality. It’s been such a blessing. I could be walking. [shoutout to Aubz, Wilsynn, and all you other 3rd world walkers….counting my stateside blessings]. I see the most humble people in the most difficult circumstances every single day. I could never understand some of the problems they face. But seeing that makes me so grateful for the little things. And plus I get way more than 30 minutes of exercise every day. I am so lucky! hahaha……

I am grateful for a lot more than those things….

Like all the emails I got today.

Or like the fact that I get to see my family face-to-face (via Skype) in 30 days. But who’s counting?

And I’m grateful for every single one of you.

Love you loads. All of you.

Love,

Hermana Lewis

xoxo

IMG_1201

 

IMG_1138 - Version 2

One thought on “Blessings on Blessings on Blessings!

Leave a Reply

