Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!

Okay, this email is going to be another short one cause I basically just saw you all on Skype a few days ago [did that really happen??] and nothing really has changed since then. Mostly because me and Hermana Finlayson started feeling sick the day after Christmas and were stranded in the house cause bike week. Sick + bike week…doesn’t work. And being sick as a missionary is not fun!!!

BUT, I don’t remember if I’ve told you about Rosie and Gledin. Because they’re a pretty recent miracle, and well I didn’t want to jynx anything. Rosie and Gledin came to church with a recent convert from the other area 3 weeks ago. They seemed very quiet and frankly their body language read: “over it.” But, Hermana Payero told us they want to “take the classes to be baptized” so we got their information and that same week on exchanges, Hermana Judd and I went to contact them. They let us right into their house and Gledin explained that he was a youth pastor for the Catholic church in El Salvador and had already read up on our church. Oh dear. But he took the Book of Mormon and explained that Rosie never liked going to church but she loved our church. So they were interested. In this short 3 weeks we’ve seen them probably 10 times. They are absolutely incredible. They are reading the Book of Mormon together. He says he reads slowly because he checks all the references that are listed at the bottom in the Bible. He is literally reading the two together and seeing how much they connect. The changes we’ve seen in them are incredible. They just look so happy all the time. They have come to church every week since that first week. They come to all the church activities. They participate in the classes and are so excited for their baptism on…..the 9th of January! It’s such a blessing to have these people just fall into our laps. Members seriously make all the difference. Because Rosie and Gledin are GOLDEN. We were at their house the other day and had just finished a lesson on the Gospel of Christ. “So what questions do you have about what we’ve taught?” “mm…none. It’s all pretty clear.” “Okay good! Do you have any questions about previous lessons or about the Book of Mormon?” “Well I did…but I looked it up and found the answer in the Bible.” “Wow! Okay well…how do you feel about your baptism on the 9th?” “Good.” “Have you been praying to know if this is true?” “Yes of course.” “And do you feel you’ve gotten your answer?” “Yes..me and my wife have been looking for this. Something to bring our family closer together. something to bring us closer to God.”

Lessons are literally that easy with them. We teach the doctrine. Extend the invitations. They commit. And follow through. We might even move up their date because they are so ready!

It’s like it’s too easy.

And then I remember…..oh yeah. I’m still on bike 🙂

Rosie and Gledin were 2 of the 5 investigators we had at church yesterday. And all 5 of those investigators have baptismal dates. Do you know how rare that is?! it’s rare. And the best part……

all 5 of those investigators stayed for the baptism after church. Plus Enrique’s son, who’s sat in on a couple lessons but hasn’t been counted as a new investigator yet.

It was a miracle of a Sunday, to say the least.

Especially since Sonia and Alberto just got called as…. OUR NEW WARD MISSIONARIES!!!! Not to mention they’re going to the temple this weekend with the ward.

We are stoked.

And here comes a new year. Where in the world did 2013 go?

Such a cliche thing for me to say. But seriously. The time disappears way to quick. I come home this year. 

what.

Other highlights of the week included:

rolling tortillas with Enrique. [he said it takes him 2 hours usually. with 3 of us it took 10 minutes.]

meeting Sonia and Alberto’s “nieces” [we decided to work on Christmas, despite President’s permission to take a day off. It was so worth it. These girls are amazing.]

shopping on Christmas Adam [aka the 23rd. I don’t recommend it. But it was our P Day]

a slumber party. [shhhhhh it’s a secret. but we got permission don’t worry]

a BBQ on Christmas [only in Florida]

making contact with old investigators via Facebook. [and I found out one is getting baptized. I LOVE THIS WORK]

I never want to stop this work. It’s so fun! I am so grateful for all the people we’ve met and all the miracles we’ve seen and are seeing now. It’s so constant. The Lord is with us.

And we have BIG plans for these upcoming weeks. How are we already halfway through the transfer?! Where does the time go?

Anyways.

Happy New Year to you all. I hope your resolutions include something besides “lose weight”             like maybe….”share the gospel”?

Just a suggestion. haha.

Love. You. All.

Love,

Hermana Lewis

xoxo

Plates of cookies we made to deliver on Christmas Eve!

Plates of cookies we made to deliver on Christmas Eve!

IMG_0020

Christmas Eve jammies!

Christmas Eve jammies!

Enjoying my Christmas jammies and all my family photos and love notes on our wrapping paper Christmas tree!

Enjoying my Christmas jammies and all my family photos and love notes on our wrapping paper Christmas tree!

Christmas Eve slumber party! (We got permission!)

Christmas Eve slumber party! (We got permission!)

Skyping with my family on Christmas Day!

Skyping with my family on Christmas Day!

I love my family!  It was SO fun to visit with them again!

I love my family! It was SO fun to visit with them again!

My family! xoxo

My family! xox

Saying goodbye... we said a family prayer together, and showed each other our family  "I love you" sign and blew kisses... I love my family so much!

Saying goodbye… we said a family prayer together, and showed each other our family “I love you” sign and blew kisses… I love my family so much!

One thought on “Goodbye 2013, Hello 2014!

  1. Happy New Year, dear Hermana Lewis! We love reading your letters! It’s always one of the highlights of our week! We send our love and wishes for a wonderful 2014! We’re sure it will be for you because you are giving it your best! Way to go!

Leave a Reply

