Kicking off 2014 the Right Way. . .

January 6, 2014

Kicking off 2014 the right way. . .

…by serving the Lord.

Hermana Finlayson and I are right about at the same point in our missions. So it’s fun to be going through more or less the same feelings at the same time. And right now we are just so blown away by how blessed we have been in this area. I remember coming here and those first couple weeks just thinking. Oh no. It’s going to be another Tampa experience. Planting seeds and whatnot. But we were willing to work hard. And oh my goodness we have seen the miracles from it. But it’s not just the area that’s changed. We have changed.

The Spirit of Christ truly does change people. I remember at the beginning of the mission it didn’t feel natural. There were times, many times, when I wouldn’t want to leave the house. The mission felt like work. And I was exhausted all the time. Well….I’m still exhausted. But missionary work has become more of a lifestyle. This is just what I do. It’s not work, it’s just life. I’m not doing missionary work, I’m a missionary.

It’s kind of hard to explain the difference. But those who have served missions probably know what I’m talking about. Or maybe you all were just gung-ho about the work from the beginning. Either way. I’ve changed. and I’ve never loved this work more. This full-time friendship stuff. It’s a blast.

Rosie and Gledin are going to be baptized this week. And they are so stoked. Even better, the Hermanas have a baptism the same night. Triple baptism! And the next week….it’ll be the same. We have been so blessed in this ward, they’re not going to be able to keep up with all the new members!

Sonia went to the temple Saturday!! She loved it, and could not stop going on about the cleanness, the peace, the beauty of it all. She and Alberto did baptisms and when they stepped off that bus they were GLOWING. [We were at the church teaching English and came out just as the bus arrived, tiny miracle in and of itself.] She came with us to a lesson yesterday too. As we walked up to the door, she said, “I just was on my way here and I just thought to myself. Wow. I’m a ward missionary!!!” She loves her calling already! Which is great because she’s a natural at teaching. I just want to cart her around with us to every lesson!

We met this new investigator, Neyva this week. Neyva is Enrique’s granddaughter. [Have I mentioned Enrique yet? He’s awesome.] She is a single mom working hard for her sweet son Sean. She works literally all the time, and everything she does, her whole center of focus, is Sean. It’s adorable. We’ve been trying to meet with her for awhile, but like I said she works all the time. She finally had a day off the other day so we went and visited her. She has truly been prepared for this gospel! We’ve been sending out Scriptures of the Day the last couple weeks. It’s kind of a pain sometimes but people usually like them so we do it. Little did we know….

She was telling us how hard it’s been lately because she can’t spend the time with Sean that she wants to. And that she’s felt super lonely. “But,” she said, “then I wake up to your texts…..and….I just know that God is aware of me. That someone is thinking about me. That I’m not alone. And that’s how I feel his love.”

Wow. Who would have thought a little generic text sent out every morning would make such a difference?

Just another testimony to me that the work we do here really does matter! People really do feel the love of Christ through us.

Try that. If someone’s on your mind, send them a little text and let them know. You never know what someone’s going through at that moment!

Seriously this week just held so many miracles. We worked so hard and met [almost] all of our goals! Next week we plan to do the same! And the week after that…and the week after that…

In President’s last email he told us he wants us to double our production in 2014. Yeah. It won’t be easy. But it’s possible. And we’re ready to do it!

Here’s to a fantastic 2014 ahead of us!

Love you all!

Love,

Hermana Lewis

xoxo

New Year's Eve... welcoming 2014!  We were home by 9:00 pm though... haha!

New Year’s Eve… welcoming 2014! We were home by 9:00 pm though… haha!

New Year's Eve!

New Year’s Eve!

Hermana Lewis and Hermana Perez bringing in 2014!

Hermana Lewis and Hermana Perez bringing in 2014!

One thought on “Kicking off 2014 the Right Way. . .

Leave a Reply

