MY DISJOINTED EMAIL HOME

February 10, 2014

 

I’ve been trying to gather and organize my thoughts into something coherent. But, it hasn’t been working. So I’m just going to write and it’s going to be a mess, but I’m a missionary and these are my emails home not a well-composed blog.

 

Enrique’s birthday party was last night. That old man is one of my favorite people on the planet. It was one of those nights when I just had to pause. Look at my surroundings — Sitting on the doorstep of a fancy trailer park full of Mexicans at night, the moon and stars shining bright, the humid air blowing in my face and turning my hair into a frizzy mess, Enrique belting his soul out on his karaoke machine to my left, with a huge plate full of rice, some part of a grilled chicken, chile picante, and corn tortillas on my lap. — And take it all in. Moments like that don’t come back. And we don’t stop to enjoy them enough. I’m trying to do more of that. Stopping to smell the roses…or something like that.

 

Our date sets kind of fell off the face of the earth this week. But it didn’t kill me like it used to. I’ve ridden this rollercoaster enough times now to know that the drop comes after the upside-down loop, and the AAAaaaAAAaaaAAAaaa is right before we hit the end. Everything is going to be okay and we’ll go out and find some more elect. And the numbers always balance out. Nobody at sacrament? It’s okay we found 5 new investigators. Heavenly Father is blessing us so much.

 

It was week 1 of Project Purification. Project Don’tsingworldlysongsinyourhead. It’s hard when we can’t listen to good music to block it out…but the mental discipline is a good skill to learn. And we discovered conference talks in the church library so we “borrowed” those and have enjoyed extending our personal study to every second we have in the car. Because 1 hour in the morning isn’t enough.

 

We went to the hospital 3 times to see Enrique. This consisted of singing hymns [his favorite is “Cantan Santos Angeles”–Angels We Have Heard on High. especially the GloooOOOooooOOOooooOOria part. He belts that one. We got some funny looks from nurses passing by], teaching the first lesson to Eva and Silvia [his daughters], and doing wall sits with Eva. That family has my heart. If I’m in Florida just for them…well. Worth it.

 

I celebrated/lamented my 11-month mark. I don’t want this to end.

 

President is having us park the cars once a week for a full day. We’re kind of over biking so we decided to walk. Bad idea. But it led to some miracles, including seeing Armando, a man who we met on the bus last week. He had already read the first pamphlet and begged us for a second. And another guy we contacted that day came to church yesterday. And we walked all the way home from Radio [30 minute bike trip]….barefoot. Because our shoes hurt so bad. But that just made the bottoms of my feet kill. We learned our lesson. Bus=good. Walking=bad. But hey, you have to have a couple stories like that to tell grandkids right? When I was a missionary…..

 

It was a solid week. So much happened. As always.

We get iPads this week. Real life my friends. Our mission is 1 of 30..in the WORLD. #stoked

Here goes another week.

Love you all!

Hermana Lewis

xoxo

IMG_0425

Leave a Reply

