iPads!

February 17, 2014

 

Dearest darlingest Momsie and Popsicle.

And everyone else.

 

No big deal but I’m just emailing you all today from my brand new fancy iPad mini! Don’t we have the best mission president ever? I mean, look what he got us for our Valentines Day gift!!

 

Needless to say, this week has been a little different, as we’ve been trying to adjust to this new way of doing missionary work. But pretty sure we’ll all be having a lot less back problems. Instead of bringing 4 Book of Mormons (2 in each language), 17 pamphlets, 43 pass-along cards, our planner, 12 pens, our own Spanish scriptures, and our own English scriptures “just in case”…we just bring our cute little iPad. My bus contacting exchange day with Hermana Hafen was at least 36 times more fun, just for that reason alone. Plus I love Hermana Hafen and we just have a blast no matter what we do.

 

But yeah the exchange. One of the best parts about the mission is you get to meet some of your best friends. Maybe it’s because nobody can really understand missionary life unless you’ve lived it. Or currently are living it. Aka nobody gets us…except us. Anyways. Hermana Hafen is one of those people I just know I was supposed to meet. Probably a long time ago because guess what she’s from St. George too. (Lex she went to lava ridge…remember her?) I had the privilege of meeting her towards the beginning of my mission and we just hit it off. I now look forward so much to exchanges with her because it’s like hanging out with a BFF back at home. Only we work way harder than I ever did back at home. Normally exchanges only last 24 hours but president has been encouraging longer exchanges. So this one was 48 hours.

 

We rode the bus and talked to everyone and walked around town…it was seriously so fun!! We met some amazing people. We decided last second to stay on the bus one more stop. As we got off, another woman got off with her daughter right in front of us. We gave her a plan of salvation pamphlet and started talking to her about the trials she’s had in her life. She’s been through A LOT. But she believes Christ carried her through it. Then she says, “I’ve been this way my whole life. I tried to fight it for a long time. I tried to live a normal life. But I couldn’t anymore. But my partner I’m with now just loves my daughter and things are better.” …..partner….tried to fight it…..rainbow bracelet on her wrist….oh. Gotcha. But Hermana Hafen and I didn’t even bat an eye. Just kept on teaching her about how God loves her and is so aware of her. We got her phone number and invited her to church. Before we parted ways she said, “I get good vibes from you girls. And I never get good vibes from people like you. I’ll definitely be calling you.” It’s so cool to meet the people Heavenly Father has in store for us. We never know quite who we’ll see when we step out of the house in the morning but the people that He puts in our path are incredible. Everyone has a story.

 

This week has flown by. I don’t know if it’s the iPads or the exchange or just the fact that I’m almost down to only 6 months left in the mission, but time is on fast forward. I’m 5 days behind on my journal. And weeks behind on my other journals. Oops. I just don’t want this to end.

 

The other day we watched The Testaments with Rosie and Gledin and their sister and brother in law who live with them. I’ve seen that movie seriously so many times. But this time there was something different. This time I really put myself in the place of the believers in that time. Especially in that end part where the Savior comes and heals the father’s eyes. And how he just looked so happy to see Christ right there standing in front of him..he was just overwhelmed with joy. And I thought to myself, “What will that feel like for me? After everything He has done for me, how could I possibly express that gratitude and love for Him?” I look up and Hermana Finlayson was tearing up beside me. Jose and Yamileth were hooked to the screen. Rosie and Gledin too. The room was silent for what seemed like forever after the movie ended. The spirit was thick. We testified of the Book of Mormon and I could feel with everything in me that the things I was saying were true. I love being able to tell people what I know and then feel it in my heart so strongly. As Jeffrey R. Holland says, “your first convert should be yourself on your mission.”

 

I just wanted to thank you guys for being so incredible and supportive. I have the strongest missionary support group ever. I truly am so blessed and I do not take any of it for granted.

 

I love you all so much!!

Love,

Hermana Lewis

XOXO

Happy Valentine's Day! xoxo

Happy Valentine’s Day! xoxo

 

Valentine's Day!

Valentine’s Day!

 

Leave a Reply

