WHERE DID THIS WEEK GO?

March 17, 2014

 

Hola todos!

 

Sometimes I just get the urge to write my entire letter home in Spanish. Quizás lo haré hoy. Jajajajaja pero de verdad. It’s getting to the point where my brain is always jumbled because I’m constantly translating English to Spanish to English to Spanish….it’s exhausting. I wonder if that will ever stop. I hope not. I love this language.

 

I don’t reeeeeeally know what to say about this week. Except that I’m realizing just how fast this transfer is going to fly. Am I really starting week 3 today? Am I really down to only 5 months left at the end of this week? What is happening to me? ! I’m one of THOSE hermanas. [I realized that last transfer when Sister Hanna came into the mission and asked, “how long have you been out?” And I answered “10 months” and she gave me a startled, “wow you are so old” look…that was 2 months ago. ¿Qué me pasó?]

 

We conducted our first exchange this week. We are going to have to do one almost every week to be able to get through all this sisters. That doesn’t seem like that much but…it makes 2 days basically not exist each week. But it’s great. I learned so much from sweet Hermana Killpack and it was amazing to see how the spirit worked through me to know exactly what she needed at this time in her mission. I love that we get to spend time with other hermanas.

 

As a missionary, I have become well aware of my faults. I mean, I knew I had things to work on before the mission. But out here, I realize just how far I have to go. And The Lord has this habit of putting me with companions whose strengths are my weaknesses. So then my weaknesses become even more evident. And honestly, that’s never very fun. But I keep being reminded of the video of the currant bush. Where the bush cries when the gardener cuts him down because he was so big and doing so well before. The gardener responds, “who’s the gardener here?? I don’t want you to be a shade tree, I want you to be a currant bush.” It’s hard to be humbled like that. But The Lord knows what He wants us to be and what we can be so much better than we do. All we can do is trust in Him and do our best and He will work on us the way he has designed. Especially in missionary work, there are no accidents. Heavenly Father puts these people in our life for a reason. And so I’m trying to learn as much I can from the people surrounding me!

 

Other highlights this week…

-I went to my 3rd Mexican baby shower. Those are such a blast.

-We stopped by Eva’s house for like 15 minutes and in that time one of her husband’s friends came up to us and said,”I just got here from Texas. I was going to a Baptist church there and I’m looking for a church here. I don’t want to distance myself from the word of God. Can I come to your church?” …..yes. Yes you can.

-We had an unbelievable lesson with Eva and Sonia and Alberto.

-I met someone a couple weeks ago and felt strongly that I should get in contact with her. But our phone is a dinosaur and we don’t get her texts. But I ran into her twice this week. Just by accident…well nothing is by accident. But you know. Just a miracle is all.

-Martin (one of our investigators) came to both our movie night and to church. And really loved both.

 

Seriously this week flew, I don’t even know what happened.

Catch ya next week?

PS…  if you’re not wearing green I’m virtually pinching you right now.

Anyways.

 

Love you all!

Love,

Hermana Lewis.

XOXO

 

 

Our zone was invited to share this gift to the new Ft. Lauderdale LDS temple that will be placed in the cornerstone of the temple.

Our zone was invited to share this gift to the new Ft. Lauderdale LDS temple that will be placed in the cornerstone of the temple.

Finally receiving a package that my family sent to me on January 6th!  A true miracle that it made it to me after all this time... minus just a few items.

Finally receiving a package that my family sent to me on January 6th! A true miracle that it made it to me after all this time… minus just a few items.

 

Leave a Reply

