The Beginning of the End

June 30, 2014

 

This is my last real P day with Hermana Fin. I’m freaking out a little. She’s been my companion, my marida, my rock, my other half for 8 months now. What in the world am I going to do without her?! When you spend 24/7 with someone and go through the things we go through daily….well….you can’t not love them. It’s impossible.

 

There’s a quote I’ve heard a couple times (couldn’t tell you who said it though): “I don’t like that man. I must get to know him better.” ….it’s so true. And it’s a lesson I learned once again this weekend. Heavenly Father has a funny way of putting people and experiences in our lives that show us our weaknesses pretty strongly. And if you don’t learn to overcome them the first time, you get it again. And again. And again. Til you learn that silly life lesson and come out a different person. So I’m learning it. Little by little.

 

So, this week was a little different. Long story short, mission life is crazy and we now have a 3rd companion for this week until transfers. Welcome Hermana Despain! We also have no clue when transfer day is and I could possibly be chilling in Port Charlotte for a couple days. President has something up his sleeve I just know it. He’s changing the transfer process again but it’s all very hush hush. I’ll let you know how that all goes. Who will be my next companion?? The idea of such a huge change gives me stomachaches. We’ve been so blessed to be down here for so long together.

 

This past week was incredible. Esperanza came back from Colombia and still wants to be baptized. Gavin came to church and loved it. Ernie said he’s open to baptism. Jose went to church in golden gate and is living the word of wisdom, no problem. It’s like everything just fell into place perfectly. I don’t know how. But Heavenly Father must just love us a whole lot. We are so blessed out here.

And with this week comes the goodbyes. So many meals and last visits planned. Kind of a foreshadowing of where I’ll be in 6 weeks. With this being our last week together, this really is the beginning of the end.

 

The last 2 transfers of mission life are so interesting. There’s so many conflicting emotions and time seems to slow down and speed up all at once. My heart feels ripped in half and I’m pulled to 2 places at once. It hurts. I’m so excited to go home and see the fam and at the same time I don’t want to leave this family I have here. It’s the worst and best thing.

 

I’ll keep you updated on how it goes.

Mission life. It’s cray.

Love,

Hermana Lewis.

xoxo

 

Leave a Reply

